jump to navigation

Yes I’m still here February 23, 2007

Posted by isabelleinnamibia in Out of the city, The job.
trackback

It seems that if i do not write on here weekly, some people get a bit panicked that something bad has happened. I find this really flattering, that people take such an interest in what I am up to, but I also suspect that this is something to do with having a reputation for being a bit accident prone. Well I’m fine.

Right now I don’t have the energy to write anything very creative. I have just been really busy at work recently. I am also about to move house, and a lot of my time has been taken up with finding a new place and a replacement for my current place. Details of which shall follow shortly…

One massive bit of excitement was my trip to Knysna a few weeks back for my brother Charlie’s wedding to Caroline. I won’t say too much about it, or I will start gushing like an over-excited and proud little sister, but it was truly moving and magical weekend. And now I have a fantastic new sister-in-law too.
I also got to dress up, eat great food and hang out with my family. I have recently been offered a 6 month extension, so it is likely I won’t be seeing them for a little longer than originally planned, so it was a real treat to spend some time hanging out. Photos will follow shortly. Although that will be it for a while on pics, as yet again, my camera got broken; but I have witnesses to agree that I was not in the room when it happened, and it is not another example of my accident-proneness.

I however did managed to take a sicki-virus to the wedding with me, which struck me quite nastily the day after the wedding, and involved a trip to the local hospital. It took a good few days to get over, and there was a risk that I wouldn’t make my flight back to Windhoek. Oh drama! I’m fine though, and I have been tested for worms, and I don’t have any. Nor do I have bilharzia or malaria or salmonella. It was just bad luck and a local Namibian virus.

More exciting stories will follow when I have some more energy and time to write. I’m also finding everything a bit normal, and so am struggling a bit for stuff to write about. Exciting, interesting and fun stuff does happen, but I think I just take it more in my stride than feel I have to tell everyone about it. But I forget most visitors to this page aren’t from here, and might find some of my mundane activities interesting. I’ll conjure up some stories of cultural weirdness for you.
But for now, all you need to know is that I’m still here and I’m fine. Although I just got bitten by a mosquito… where is it…. bzzzzzz…..

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

