jump to navigation

Leaving on a jet plane…. September 7, 2006

Posted by isabelleinnamibia in Namibia, Uncategorized, VSO.
trackback

Hi! So here’s my weblog. I thought it would make sense to have a site for people to check when they had time, as opposed to sending out those long-winded bulk group emails to everyone that has made me so unpopular on previous adventures over the years. So it is here that you can read about and see what I’m up to during my time working in Namibia. You can also write me personal messages, or comment on whatever it is that I’m yakking about. Rather nifty, I think!

So I’m going to Namibia in a few days. I’ve bought almost everything I need, but still have a monster to-do list that I am frantically working my way through. I’m feeling pretty fine about leaving, mainly because I’m focusing more on the immediate details of packing, malaria tablets and getting there in one piece, as opposed to freaking out over what I’ll actually be doing out there – that freak out will probably come when I touch down in Namibia.

I’m afraid I don’t have much knowledge right now as to what I’ll be doing on a day-to-day basis, but keep checking here, and I’ll update you as I find out myself.

All I know is that on Saturday I’ll be on the 2115 flight to Joburg from Heathrow, and then transfer to Windhoek, arriving mid-afternoon on Sunday. We have a week of ‘In-Country training’, and then start work the following week. I’ll be living and working in the capital, but will go out to do stints in the field when necessary. And I’m there for 12 months.

I understand that the apartment I have been provided with is rather comfy, so visitors are welcome. Check out the links to the Namibian tourist board for reasons to come.

Anyway that’s it for now. More info and photos will follow. And remember that you can sign up for this blog so you can be emailed all updates. Write me messages, and I will respond personally.
But I will warn you that this weblog site looks a bit complicated for my simple level of computer literacy, so if it seems like I don’t have a clue, it’s because I don’t!

Watch this space!!
Isabelle xx

Comments»

1. Josh - September 9, 2006

I would like to wish Izzi the very best of luck in Namibia. Please come back in one piece.
love your stinky brother. Josh xx

2. Alison - September 11, 2006

Great idea to do this…Lots of love … Alison


Leave a Reply

